The Connecticut GIS Network was established in 2001 as a voluntary association of Connecticut geospatial professionals. The network was created to provide an informal venue for the exchange of information, ideas, data, technical tips, etc. and to fill a void since no GIS professional group or any state sponsored organization existed to support the Connecticut GIS community. The original steering committee included Barbara MacFarland, Jose Giner, Jon Scull, Sandy Prisloe and Dave Hannon.


Recognizing that the long term success of the Network required a more formal organization, the Steering Committee prepared a draft set of bylaws and circulated them among the membership for comments. At the March 2004 Annual Meeting, the Network bylaws were approved. They establish a formal framework for the operation of the Network, define its mission, establish meeting schedules, establish procedures for selecting steering committee members and officers, establish terms of office, establish standing committees and provide a mechanism for amending the bylaws. A revision was made to the Bylaws in March of 2012 and again in March of 2017.

CT GIS Network Bylaw Revision History (PDFs – requires Adobe Reader)

Current User Network Bylaws with revision (March 2017)

User to User Network Bylaws with revision (March 2012)

User to User Network Bylaws (March 2004)



The Network shall have as its purpose:

a) To provide opportunities, through a variety of venues including workshops, meetings and the Internet, for members to share ideas, to learn about GIS activities, to explore collaborative opportunities and to discover geospatial information resources;

b) To promote the free exchange of geospatial knowledge and information among members and to promote geospatial knowledge with the general public;

c) To encourage the growth of the field of geospatial technology in the State of Connecticut;

d) To serve as a geospatial technology resource;

e) To communicate the needs and issues affecting Connecticut GIS users to the state agencies and elected officials responsible for developing GIS policy and acquiring geospatial data.